The book on DZ BANK's history

The history of DZ BANK

Cooperative central banking from the nineteenth century to today

By Timothy Guinnane, Stephan Paul, Theresia Theurl, Harald Wixforth, Joachim Scholtyseck and Patrick Bormann. 640 pages with 20 images, 8 maps, 17 tables and 58 pictures in 2 Tafelteilen. Linen € 38.00 ISBN 978-3-406-64063-6

Date of publication: 21 January 2013

DZ BANK is the central institution of the local cooperative banks in Germany and is one of the country’s most important financial institutions. In this book well-known economic historians relate its history clearly and with close reference to the sources. The authors cover the period from the founding fathers, above all Hermann Schulze-Delitzsch, Friedrich Wilhelm Raiffeisen and Wilhelm Haas, to the present, embedding the history of cooperative central banking in general economic and political developments.

The roots of DZ BANK lie in the cooperative banking system of the nineteenth century, in particular in the Preußische Zentralgenossenschaftskasse established in 1895. Ever since they were established the cooperative banks have played an important role in supplying credit to broad sections of the business economy and have made a decisive contribution to the creation of the “Mittelstand” as an element of stability in Germany. To date, however, economic historians have paid little heed to the history of the cooperative banks. This also applies to the role played by the cooperative central banking system. Filling this gap is the major concern of this book.

The authors

Patrick Bormann is research associate at the Institut für Geschichtswissenschaft at the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn.

Gerald Braunberger is the financial market editor of the Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung.

Timothy W. Guinnane is Philip Golden Bartlett Professor of Economic History at  the Department of Economics at Yale University, New Haven (USA).

Stephan Paul is professor of business economics and holder of the chair for financing and banking at the Faculty of Economic Science at the Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

Bernd Rudolph is professor emeritus of business economics and Chairman of the Wissenschaftlicher Beirat des Instituts für bankhistorische Forschung e.V., Frankfurt am Main.

Joachim Scholtyseck is professor of history and holder of the chair of contemporary history at the Institut für Geschichtswissenschaft at the Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn.

Theresia Theurl is professor of economics and executive director of the Institut für Genossenschaftswesen at the Centrum für Angewandte Wirtschaftsforschung at the Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster.

Harald Wixforth is lecturer in the Faculty of the Humanities at the University of Bremen and managing director of the Gesellschaft für mitteleuropäische Banken- und Sparkassengeschichte, Bielefeld.